Posted by: Lisa | August 16, 2010

He’s liiiiiistening…..

No more profanity when I stub my toe.  No more bad language on TV during Jacob’s wake time.  A certain little someone is definitely listening!  I know babies are always listening, but now it’s really obvious.  I love how Jacob can now “prove” that he not only hears us but understands us as well.  It’s cute.

One day last week I was trying to fix dinner & Jacob wouldn’t stop hanging on my leg, whining.  He was hungry and wanted my attention, but the chicken wasn’t going to jump in the oven by itself if I plopped down for another game of see-how-fast-we-can-empty-the-cups-out-of-the-kitchen-cabinet.  I really didn’t think this would work, but for some reason I said, “Hey, Jacob, where’s your big truck?  Can you make it go honk-honk?”  He stared right up at me with a look that said, “Ok, Mommy, whatever you say.  I’ll do anything for you.”  He walked away.  I kept chopping veggies while listening to the little shuffle-shuffle of his feet across the foyer floor.  I peeked through the kitchen window & saw him just stop at the couch.  He looked around as though he’d forgotten what I asked him to do (cute now but won’t be too adorable when he’s 7!).  I repeated my direction.  With a look of true concentration he thought about what I’d said & then took off toward the corner where his toys are.  Moments later I heard a loud HONK HONK.  I froze.  And instead of fixing that dinner I was trying to get on the table?  I dropped everything & went to the living room to clap & dance & cheer for my obedient little listener.

Yesterday we were sitting in his rocking chair together reading a book.  Well, I was reading.  He was frantically trying to turn the pages back & forth.  I think he was testing me to see if I have the story memorized yet.  I knew that if I couldn’t pass the test I’d be in for at least another 100 reads through that same book before we could move on to something else.  Anyway, I was just reading through all the sentences on the pages, knowing it was beneficial for him but still realizing he probably understood very little of what I said.  I read, “Look!  One fish is missing the bubbles!”  I was about to turn the page when he leaned forward & plopped his face smack down on the book.  I was about to wonder what was wrong with his neck when I heard him start blowing bubbles just like he does in the swimming pool, face down.  And that, folks, is how I know for certain that my child IS listening when I read, despite all the wiggling & looking around.  Awesome.

It won’t be long before we’ll have to start spelling everything out.  “Hey, Jon, would you like a c-o-o-k-i-e?”  “No, but how about some i-c-e   c-r-e-a-m instead?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

