Posted by: Lisa | September 19, 2010

Apples and Pumpkins and Hayrides, Oh My!

Thursday marks the first day of Fall.  Despite the still-summer weather here, it means it’s time for pumpkins & changing leaves & apple cider & pumpkin pie & my birthday & cool evenings & the color orange & football & hooded sweatshirts.  It means it’s finally almost cool enough to play outside in the middle of the day & go to the park.  I love Fall, if you couldn’t tell, & I’ve especially been looking forward to it ever since the swimming pools closed a few weeks ago!

Last October we took Jacob to a nearby pumpkin patch.  I’d never been to one, but it seemed like the thing to do since I had a child.  I dressed Jacob in an adorable Fall outfit & we rode a covered wagon across the farm.  I thought the pumpkins would make a beautiful backdrop for some photos, but it definitely took two of us to get any good ones.  Jon precariously propped our 5-month-old baby up against a pair of strategically placed pumpkins & did some fancy footwork to get out of the way while I aggravated my carpel tunnel syndrome in my finger by snapping the shutter release button on my camera in record speed…all before Jacob toppled over!  Somehow we managed to get a few perfect pictures, including an unexpected one of Jacob “eating” a sunflower.

I can’t believe it’s been a year since that memorable day, but I’m now making plans for another outing to a pumpkin patch.  I’m thankful to be learning about how adjust my camera’s shutter speed in my photography class, because now I’ll need to be lightning fast because I suspect Jacob will be running away or trying to climb up the wagons & tractors on the farm.  I’ve also looked into a pick-your-own apple orchard excursion – something I’ve never done before.  Here’s what I’ve found from my online searches:

A great list of various apple orchards in the Hendersonville, NC area –
http://www.historichendersonville.org/apple_orchards.htm

An apple orchard & cider mill in Fort Mill, SC, that seems to have lots of fun things to see/do & culminates with a festival on Oct 16th –
http://windyhillorchard.com/

I’m not a fan of this website’s layout, but it does offer an extensive list of pumpkin patches & farms all over the U.S.  Just choose your state & region & then scroll WAY down to find the farms listed alphabetically by county –
http://www.pumpkinpatchesandmore.org

Last year we went to Riverbend Farm in Midland, NC.  I have no complaints at all, but I’d like to check out a different place this year.  I’ll be sure to post something after we visit.  Happy Fall!

Responses

  1. Elaine and her kids went to an apple orchard in Hendersonville and loved it (btw check your link for that because it gave me the pumpkin patch website). Last year, Ryan and I went to the Hodges Dairy Farm to get a pumpkin; it was with the Moms group. Let me know if you find a cool place to go because we’d like to try something different.

    Love the new pic of Jacob and his wagon!

    • Thanks for alerting me to the bad link – I think I fixed it! I’ll let you know where Jacob & I end up going. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

