Posted by: Lisa | October 8, 2010

My New Endeavor

Weird.  I’m “published.” Those aren’t words I ever thought I’d say, despite the fact that my husband’s an author and has encouraged me to give it a try for years now.  Ok, so I’m not exactly on Oprah’s bestseller list or featured in the New York Times, and I won’t be doing book signings or appearing on Ellen anytime soon, but my head shot and my writing is in a little box in the corner of the front page of our small local newspaper.  Two weeks ago I sent some of my writing to the editor of this newspaper and asked if he’d be interested in running a parenting column.  Think John Rosemond.  Except I’m cheaper.  And way more liberal.  And more nurturing.  Aside from all that, though…  🙂  Anyway, I figured the worst that could happen is that the editor would say “no.”  But he didn’t say “no.”  He said, “I would enjoy running your column in the paper weekly.”  And just like that, I got myself a little side job!  (Nevermind that it’s technically a volunteer job, since they don’t pay columnists, but I’m just going to pretend I’m a big, fancy, impressive news reporter, ok?  Humor me and pretend it, too.)  After scrapping the first column I wrote and then completely rewriting the second after Jon interpreted it entirely different from my intent, I finally sent off my first two columns today.  Here’s to my newest adventure…!

Responses

  1. I meant to tell you that I saw your head shot and blurb to your blog on the EJ when I was at school Monday. How cool are you!

  2. This is freaking awesome! I am so proud/impressed/jealous. 🙂 All the best to you and your bourgeoning journalistic experience!

    • Thanks! I have no idea what will become of it, but it’s fun dabbling in it for now…


Leave a Reply

Categories

