Posted by: Lisa | October 31, 2010

But Mommy, the dog did it!

My Parenting magazine reads, “Catch your 2-year-old telling a whopper?  Take heart: According to a recent study, an ability to fib at this age may actually mean your kid is on the developmental fast track, especially if the lie is a believable one.  Go over the importance of telling the truth, but don’t stress.  Your little Pinocchio can reform.”

My own parents scared the you-know-what outta me in regard to lying.  I was terrified of lying.  Seriously.  I don’t know how they did it, but I plan to find out so I can do the same thing with Jacob.  Somehow I knew that no matter how horrendous my crime was, it could never be as dreadful as lying.  Set the house on fire?  Awww, sweetie, it’s no problem as long as you ‘fess up. Take the car out for a spin at age 13?  It’s ok, honey, as long as you admit it. Ok, maybe they weren’t quite that lenient but it’s still the message I received.

Despite my track record of honesty, I still don’t think my husband believes me when I tell him I’d rather hear the worst than to find out later that he (or anyone) lied to me.  I am the most trusting person on Earth and will absolutely put all of my faith in you until you give me a reason not to.  And then, in keeping with the theme, I’ll be honest: I’ll probably never believe anything you say or do again.  Tough love, right?

Leave a Reply

Categories

