Posted by: Lisa | December 31, 2010

A New Year’s Reflection

Christmas is over.  December is over.  The year 2010 is over.  After some wonderful family time this week at my parents’ house, my sister, brother-in-law, 2-year-old nephew, uncle, & grandparents have all said goodbye & headed back to their homes.  On Monday Jacob & I will pack our suitcases & make the long drive back to our house.

My head is swarming right now with thoughts about this trip here.  It’s been a very tough year for me – and an even tougher Christmas season – but the time with my family has been so special.  For some reason it’s seemed less chaotic than in past years.  I’m trying to enjoy every moment at my parents’ house since this will be my last time here.  The moving van will arrive in a few weeks to move them to their new house 400 miles away.  It’s bittersweet…I am ecstatic that they’ll be living closer to me.  I can hardly contain my excitement about the prospect of day trips to see them, easy overnights, Jacob getting to spend more time with his beloved Nana & Papa, and chances for my parents to come to my choir concerts or Jacob’s future performances, spelling bees, or sports games.  But despite all of that, it’s a little sad to lose our vacation home in Florida – a house with a swimming pool, a neighborhood playground next door, & a beach minutes away.  My parents just sold their jet skis, so the days of zooming across waves as our laughter is muffled by the salty wind are over.  As a family we’ve created some incredible memories here, and we all imagined the boys (Jacob & my nephew) growing up with visits to this beautiful home & amazing city.

I guess 2011 will be a year of starting over for a lot of us.  So…here goes…

Happy New Year to you all!

Leave a Reply

Categories

