Posted by: Lisa | March 5, 2011

She Makes Me Feel Old

It’s 1:30 a.m.  The teenaged girl across the street has been standing at the curb making out with her boyfriend for the last 1-1/2 hours.  (Yes, 90 minutes!).  The boyfriend’s car has been running the entire time.  Here’s the collection of random thoughts that have gone through my mind as I’ve caught glances of them through my windows while I’ve been cleaning up the house.

1.  Why the heck is his car running?  She clearly isn’t letting him go anytime soon.  That’s so bad for the environment.

2.  Screw the environment.  Gas is nearly $4.00 a gallon!

3. I wonder if her parents are still awake inside.  I wonder if they know she’s technically home…but not really.

4. I wonder if they actually went on a date tonight or if standing at the curb kissing WAS their date.

5.  I remember days gone by when I made out with my boyfriend for 1-1/2 hours straight.  I remember when I would’ve rather stood in the cold kissing than gone inside to my warm bed.  Sigh.

6. I wonder if their lips are getting tired yet.

7. Are they really still out there?!

8.  Brrr!  It’s 46 degrees outside!  Is the kissing keeping them warm?

9.  Wait.  She’s out there kissing…and I’m the loser who’s just written an entire blog post about it.  Hmmm….

A kiss makes the heart young again and wipes out the years.  ~Rupert Brooke

Responses

  1. Loved it! I wonder what her parents were thinking. And a 1:30am curfew, that’s a little late.

    • Well, she was technically home at midnight. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

