Posted by: Lisa | January 21, 2012

Seize WHAT?

If you haven’t yet seen this blog post that’s been circulating all over facebook, it’s worth your time to read it. I love the sarcasm the writer uses (I can just hear her saying in a snarky voice, “Oh carpe diem yourself!”) but she makes some excellent points. My favorite line is, “I can’t even carpe fifteen minutes in a row, so a whole diem is out of the question.” 

My ex (an author) once told me that he hated writing but loved being a writer. It didn’t really make a lot of sense to me at the time, but I get it now. It’s not just applicable to writers, but to most any job – particularly parenthood. Most of the time I truly do love parenting. I enjoy the little things my son does and says & at times I feel like my heart’s going to burst out of my chest it’s so full & happy with love & pride for him. But there are certainly moments where the only thing I’m seizing is an aspirin & the nearest bottle of wine!

For those moments we all have as parents, here is “Don’t Carpe Diem” by Glennon Melton, creator of Momestary.

Leave a Reply

Categories

